Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Old and New Favorite Songs

Old Favorite Songs:
Future Perfect: Hunter

KMFDM: Juke Joint Jezebel

Ministry: Psalm 69

New Favorite Songs:
Frozen Plasma: Age After Age

Marina and the Diamonds: Weeds

Nightwish: Endless Forms Most Beautiful

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

40 Albums that are 20 years old

Seeing that the band Garbage has been performing their self-titled album live overseas because it has been 20 years since its release. I thought it would be a hoot to remind my readers what else was released 20 years ago. This is just some,not all the releases that came out in 1995. Now I feel old ;).

01. Garbage: Garbage
02. Leftfield: Leftism
03. Tricky: Maxinquaye
04. The Chemical Brothers: Exit Planet Dust
05. Foo Fighters: Foo Fighters
06. Blur: The Great Escape
07. Supergrass: I Should Coco
08. The Smashing Pumpkins: Mellonie Collie and the Infinite Sadness
09. Sonic Youth: Washing Machine
10. Ol' Dirty Bastard: Return to the 36 Chambers
11. Mariah Carey: Daydream
12. Selena: Dreaming of You
13. Fugazi: Red Medicine
14. Bone Thugs-N-Harmony: E.Eternal 1999
15. The Roots: Do You Want More?!!!??!
16. Goldie: Timeless
17. Massive Attack: No Protection
18. Radiohead: The Bends
19. Bjork: Post
20. PJ Harvey: To Bring You My Love
21. Oasis: (What's the Story) Morning Glory
22. The Jayhawks: Tomorrow the Green Grass
23. Rancid: And Out Come the Wolves
24. 2Pac: Me Against the World
25. Pulp: Different Class
26. Emmylou Harris: Wrecking Ball
27. Faith No More: King For the Day,Fool For a Lifetime
28. Pink Floyd: Pulse
29. Teenage Fanclub: Grand Prix
30. D'angelo: Brown Sugar
31. Chris Isaak: Forever Blue
32. Aphex Twin: I Care Because You Do
33. Alice in Chains: Alice in Chains
34. Team Dresch: Personal Best
35. David Bowie: Outside
36. Elastica: Elastica
37. Aimee Mann: I'm With Stupid
38. Lisa Gerrard: The Mirror Pool
39. Front Line Assembly: Hard Wired

Monday, May 18, 2015

Weekly Playlist for 05/18-05/24

In honor of the upcoming Voltaire and Ego Likeness show at Amsterdam Bar and Hall in Saint Paul, I created a playlist of songs featuring Voltaire and Ego Likeness's songs. Local steampunk band Bad September will be opening up the show that night. I have also included their latest album in case you are curious about their music.

Saturday, May 16, 2015

Upcoming events in the Twin Cities [updated]

Amaranthe with I Prevail and Santa Cruz at Mill City Nights
Goth Prom XII: Mystery
Aurelio Voltaire with Ego Likeness and Bad September at Amsterdam Bar and Hall
Ministry at Mill City Nights
Hot Chip with Slow Magic at First Avenue Mainroom

Lindsey Stirling at Northrup Auditorium
Purity Ring with Braids and Born Gold (All Ages show) at First Avenue Mainroom
Rock the Garden 2015
En Esch with GoFight and Ghostfeeder at Amsterdam Bar and Hall
Electric Six with White Reaper at First Avenue Mainroom
Dance Assault album release show at Fine Line Music Cafe
Pride in concert: Deborah Cox, Peaches, Hunter Valentine, Mayda

Lenka at The Cedar
The Inaugural MN Midsummer Nightmare
Minnesota Take Down at Mill City Nights
Veruca Salt at The Cedar
V 2.0 The Resurrection Fashion Show at Ground Zero

The Kills with Baby in Vain at First Avenue Mainroom
Social Distortion with Nikki Lane and Drag the River at First Avenue Mainroom
KMFDM with CHANT! and Inertia at Mill City Nights
Insomnium with Omnium Gatherum and Cold Colours at 7th Street Entry
The Psychedelic Furs and The Church at First Avenue Mainroom

Symphony X with Overkill at Mill City Nights

Suicide Girls at Mill City Nights
Crypticon Minnesota 2015

February 2016
T Presents: Nightwish at First Avenue Mainroom (tickets goes on sale on 6/6 but you can buy them through

Thursday, May 14, 2015

Throwback Thursday: 1998

Throwback Thursday time! Tonight I am sharing with my readers my favorite albums from 1998. Enjoy!

01. Tori Amos: From the Choirgirl Hotel

02. Hooverphonic: Blue Power Wonder Milk

03. Garbage: Version 2.0

04. Curve: Come Clean

05. The Smashing Pumpkins: Adore

06. Massive Attack: Mezzanine

07. Madonna: Ray of Light

08. Nightwish: Oceanborn

09. Propellerheads: Decksanddrumsandrockandroll

10. Craig Armstrong: The Space Between Us